Checking in on Rebecca MacKinnon’s blog, RConversation a few days ago, I picked up on the news about Google, Microsoft, Vodafone and Yahoo! agreed to work with a variety of human rights organizations, academics, and investors in the areas of freedom of expression and internet privacy. The moment I saw the press release posted on CSRwire, I was excited to see that Amnesty International was listed as one of the participants. However, when I looked over the press release posted on Center for Democracy & Technology (the CDT and Business for Social Responsibility are the designated contacts for the press release), AI was not listed. I sent an email to a staff of AIUSA and instead of a reply, I received an announcement about AI’s participation. From what I heard, AIUSA with support from AIUK attended the first meetings of the new initiative.

By the way, the Global Online Freedom Act was reintroduced by New Jersey Congressman Chris Smith earlier this month. And about a month ago, the US State Department announced that it would include internet freedom in the next annual human rights report. With so much internet censorship taken place around the world in recent years, all of these are much needed good news although they are relatively small steps for a serious problem.

Related news and links:

Update (1-31-2007):

