I haven’t been writing in my blog as often as I like lately. A lot of AI work is taking up most of my free time. My day job is also picking up speed. I barely have enough energy to get through emails (mostly related to AI) each night. But when I read on the BBC news website that The Body Shop founder, Anita Roddick has suddenly left this world, I got compelled to write some thoughts.

To be honest, I don’t know much about Ms. Roddick. When I was working on the AIUSA campaign for the release of Rebiya Kadeer, I sent emails to a few corporations hoping that their female executives would become interested in the case due to Ms. Kadeer’s past success as a businesswoman. I didn’t get anywhere. I later found out about Ms. Roddick’s work for positive social and environmental change but I was already discouraged by my earlier efforts and didn’t make any attempts to contact her or her company. May be I should have.

Although not as well known as other celebrities, I consider Ms. Roddick as one of the few pioneering practitioners of corporate social responsibility. Many companies claim to have values but few of them follow their promises word for word. I hope The Body Shop will continue to maintain Ms. Roddick’s ideals for the business and never turn its back from nature and human rights.

Anita Roddick, source: The Body Shop

