This evening was a memorable moment in my human rights work. I left my day job a few minutes early to attend a gathering at the local public square in support of Troy Davis. I joined a small group of people waiting for the Supreme Court to announce its decision to issue a stay of execution. The clock ticked away as we waited and scrambled all over the web with our mobile devices to get the latest update from Georgia. The crowd grew thinner and thinner. After about an hour and a half, I had to catch the bus to head home.

One of the attendees was sharing the livestream of Democracy Now on her iPad. I could barely hear anything. Once I got home, dinner was ready in minutes through the magic of a microwave and a toaster. By the time I turned on the TV and the attached computer, Amy Goodman and her producer were announcing that the Supreme Court denied the stay of execution. A 4-hour delay ended in vain. I couldn’t believe it. What took so long to say no?

The moment of killing a human being came and gone quickly. The crowd was particularly silent since the court’s announcement. The witnesses of the execution talked to the media about Troy’s last words. And those words were beautiful. I wish this did not happen at all. Earlier in the livestream, one of the guest speakers explained the process of the execution and she pointed out that Troy’s death certificate would list “homicide” as the cause of death. That’s what happened tonight. A willful homicide witnessed by a small quiet group behind a piece of glass.

Thank you to Amy Goodman and the crew of Democracy Now for bringing live action of the death penalty to the masses. Although I wasn’t in Georgia in person, I could sense the intensity, anger and sadness. This is too real for me. I wish it will never happen again.

